Forums

How to set up "Working With Children" checks?

Hi,

Has anyone set up something to keep track of 'Working With Children" checks?

I'm sure there is a similar system in most states now. It's a Photo ID card issued by the state government and all leaders who have contact with kids need one. We as a church need to know who has one, who hasn't, and send them a reminder when it expires.

How would I do that? I'm very new to Elvanto so you will need to give me very basic instructions

Hi Graeme

Thanks for the email.

The exact method of how you go about this depends on the regulations that you have to follow by your local government. But a commonly used method is to create custom fields for details such as 'Working With Children Card Number' and 'Working with Children Expiration'

A custom report is often used to check the dates of the Expiration, and the church then contacts the people with who have their expiry date coming up within the next 3 months are then regularly checked to ensure that every has a valid check.

Hope this helps,

Stewart

Hi Graeme, 

Just thought I'd chime in with some recent experience from working out a solution to the same problem. 

We have created custom fields for people under a "Child Safety" heading where we track 

- Safe Ministry Training dates (valid from and expiry)

- Working With Children Check numbers (WWCC number, date last verified, expiry date). 

I'll eventually set up regular custom reports to flag to me when expiry dates are approaching etc, but haven't done this yet.  I also feel like there's potential for some kind of people flow around this ("So, you want to be a kids leader??"), but I haven't gotten that far in my thinking yet!

Last week I needed to contact everyone who needs to

- attend Safe Ministry Essentials training (those who have never done it before)

- attend Safe Ministry Refresher training (have done it before, need to refresh every 3 years)