When archiving people often they are part of a group / department. It would be great that when we archive someone that there is some form of "pop up" for want of a better word that asks would you like to remove this person from groups / departments to which they are attached?
This would provide a clean slate should they (when they) return in the future and are reactivated.
Thanks for the post.
There's an existing request for this, and I've added your support to this request.
Hope this helps,